Skip to content

Armchair Biophilia

February 2, 2012

Armchair Biophilia sounds like a dangerous contagion – it will hopefully be the name of an ensemble-cast movie soon. But it’s also how this video makes me feel: inexplicably warmed at the sight of a pretty building adorned by nature – even though I’m watching it from my nature-less desktop.

I take pretty much anyone I can convince to the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens – a 20 minute walk from my house. The desolation of the place this time of year can make for haunting pictures. These are some I took on New Year’s Eve when my friends and I went for a walk through BBG.

   

After we shivered our way through the grounds, we were rewarded by the greenhouse biospheres – deserts, temperate forests, jungles – veritable Brooklyn oases. The terrarium and bonsai exhibits are especially worth the trip.

And I’m not the only one who finds them picturesque. The latest email newsletter from the British clothing brand ASOS contained this charming video of Elizabeth Olsen wandering through the gardens in quirky, colorful outfits, which I would like to do now please thank you if there are any photographers out there, ok?

 

And I recently discovered the joys of the Linnean Libation League, a bevy of bacchanal botany lovers (oh sorry, I thought we were alliterating everything) after my own heart and attended their Russian Retreat [alliteration sic].

In sum: Long live the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens!

That’s not really an issue though because they’re plants and they’ll live as long as we keep watering and replanting them.

Unless there’s an environmental apocalypse and stuff stops growing, in which case we’re in trouble all around.

So let’s plant more of those green roofs and avoid that!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2012 10:25 pm

    What’s up, just wanted to mention, I enjoyed this article. It was funny. Keep on posting!

  2. July 7, 2012 11:27 pm

    Thank you! I’ve been derelict lately, it’s true. I promise to do better.

Leave a Reply

